Permits :
RESIDEN] R Al e e e 5 A0
NONRESIDENT ANNUAL ....L il AL 6810:00
NONRESIDENT, THREE DAYS ....ocovoeein L e300
RESIDENT COMBINATION

HUNTINGRRISEING s s i$8:00

RESIDENT FISHING PERMIT: Required of all residents
16 years of age or older. Seseont
NONRESIDENT FISHING PERMIT: Required of ail per-
sons who are not residents of Nebraska, except those
under 16 years of age accompanied by a parent or guar-
dian possessing a valid nonresident permit. b
RESIDENT: A person who has resided in N
tinuously for at least 90 days and who ha
intention of becoming a legal reside
Members of the armed forces on act
cially stationed in Nebraska may pur
fishing permit after residing 30 conse
state. ] GBI
BOUNDARY WATERS: See permit
persons fishing in any waters of Lewis and Cla
and the Missouri River under ‘Boundary Waters.”

Seasons

HOOK AND LINE—Open year-round throughout the
state, except as noted in Special Areas section, or
as posted.

ARCHERY —Game fish may be taken with bow and
arrow from April 1 through November 30, sunrise
to sunset. Nongame fish may be taken the year-round
from sunrise to sunset.

HAND SPEARING — Nongame fish may be taken from
sunrise to sunset the year-round.

UNDERWATER-POWERED SPEARFISHING — No
closed season on nongame fish. Game fish may be
taken from August 1 through December 31 in waters
specified.

SNAGGING —October 1 through April 30 only in the
Missouri River. Al other waters of the state are closed
to snagging at all times.

Notice
This publication is intended as a guide only.
For official law see Nebraska Code
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Special Limits—In the following state-owned lakes, the
daily bag and possession limit on bullhead and carp is
10 fish in combination: All Two Rivers lakes, Douglas
County; Nicbrara Park Lake, Knox County; West Lake
No. 3, Louisville, Cass County; Crystal Lake, Adams
County; Fremont Lake No. 5, Dodge County; and all
other put-and-take lakes stocked by the Game and
Parks Commission the bag and possession limit is 10
fish, game or nongame, unless otherwise provided by
special regulation. Note: Many cities limit the take to
less than 10.

Bag and Possession Limits—Any fish caught that is not
to be counted in the bag limit must be immediately re-
leased into the water with as little injury as possible,
except during snagging season in the Missouri River
where any paddlefish caught must be counted in the
bag and at Two Rivers Recreation Area Lake No. 5
where every fish caught must be counted in the bag.
Any fish placed on a stringer, or in a container, or not
returned immediately to the water, must be counted in
the bag.
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rown, Rainbow) and
10, Kokanee) in com-

~ bination .. :
Bass (Largemouth, Smallmouth and
- Kentucky Spotted Bass in combina- -
‘tion), except Missouri River where
d possession limitis 10.......
aS5.... ; .

No No
Limit  Limit
Possession lllegal
10 10

#**DAILY BAG — Fish taken from midnight to midnight.

+POSSESSION LIMIT—Fish in a person’s portable
cooler, home freezer, registered in his name in a com-
mercial cold storage locker, or in any other way under
his control.

HOOK AND LINE LIMITATIONS —No more than two
lines with two hooks on each line are permitted in any
lake, pond, or reservoir, or for one-half mile in their
inlets, outlets, and canals. In stream and ice fishing no
more than 5 hooks on a line or 15 hooks in the aggre-
gate are allowed. One hook means a single, double, or
treble-pointed hook. All haoks attached to an artificial
bait or lure are counted as one hook. These hook and
line limits apply to fishing with poles, floats, bank or
fimb lines, or others.
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| Size Limits

NORTHERN PIKE—24 inches only in that part of Ne-
braska east of U.S. Highway 81. This excludes the
waters of the Missouri River and its oxbows.

BASS (largemouth, smallmouth, spotted bass)— 12
inches statewide, except the waters of the Missouri
River and its oxbows.

ALL OTHER SPECIES — None.

Archery

Game fish may be taken by bow and arrow from April
1 through November 30, from sunrise to sunset. Non-
game fish may be taken from sunrise to sunset the year-
round. Closed waters include all put-and-take |akes
stocked by the Game Commission; Two Rivers, Louis~
ville, and Fremont state recreation areas; DeSoto Na-
tional Refuge lake, portions of Lake McConaughy as
posted, and trout streams (see Special Areas section).

The entire state is open, including state parks, state
historical parks, state recreation areas, state special-use
areas, and state wayside areas, except restricted areas
listed herein or as otherwise posted.

Each arrow may have only one barbed point and be

attached to a line from the bow. Only long bows, drawn
by hand, are legal.

Snagging

Snagging of game and nongame fish is permitted only
in the Missouri River from October 1 through April 30.
All other waters of the state are closed to snagging at
all times,

Any paddlefish caught must be counted in the bag,
and may not be cut up except for field dressing (re-
moval of intestines, head, and tail) until arrival at the
angler's residence.

Mussels

Mussels may be taken year-round by hand, hand net,
or hook and line. There is no limit.

Spearfishing

All individuals spearfishing in any manner must have
a valid Nebraska resident or nonresident fishing permit.

Only hand spears are legal and only nongame fish may
be taken when spearing on the surface.
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Underwater-Powered
Spearfishing

Lawful spear guns include hand spears, rubberband-
powered spear guns, and spring-loaded spear guns. All
spears used on powered spear guns must be attached to
a lanyard with a maximum length of 20 feet.

Underwater-powered spearfishing is not permitted
within 100 yards of any designated swimming or water
ski jump area, boat dock, boat ramp, or spillway.

Upon written approval of the director of the Game
Commission, specified game species and specified wa-
ters may be opened for a limited time to underwater-
powered spearfishing for special events and for fish
management purposes,

Seasons

Game fish—August 1 through December 31 in waters
listed below. Bag and possession limits are the same
as for hook and line. \

|
Nongame fish — Open year-round in waters listed below,
There are no size, bag or possession limits. !

OPEMN WATERS
1. Privately-owned lakes with permission of the lake
owner,
. Lake McConaughy, Keith County
. Lake Ogallala, Keith County
. Lake Minatare, Scolts Bluff County
. Box Butte Reservoir, Dawes County
. Lewis and Clark Lake
. Harlan County Reservoir
. Enders Reservoir, Chase County
. Swanson Reservoir, Hitchcock County
. Hugh Butler (Red Willow) Reservoir, Frontier County
. Harry Strunk (Medicine Creek) Reservoir,
Frontier County
. Sutherland Reservoir, Lincoln County
. Maloney Reservoir, Lincoln County
14. Jeffrey Canyon Reservoir, Lincoln County
15. Johnson Reservoir, Gosper and Dawson counties

Divers’ Flag

The International Bivers’ Flag must be displayed om
the water on a float or buoy when diving or underwater-
powered spearfishing. A diver and underwater spear-
fisherman must remain within 150 feet of his flag.

The flag must be at least 12 inches square, with a red
background and white diagonal stripe that is one-fifth
the width of the flag. The white stripe must run from the,
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top of the hoist to the bottom of the flag, It is unlawful
to display this flag when diving or spearfishing is not in
progress.

Bullfrogs
Bullfrog season runs from July 15 through October 31.
Bag and possession limit is 8 bullfrogs per person.
They may be taken only on a fishing permit by hand,
hand net, gig, hook-and-line, or bow-and-arrow. Arti-
ficial light may be used when taking bullfregs.

Snapping Turtles

Snapping turtles may be taken year-round, and limits
are 10 in the daily bag and in possession. They may be
taken only by hand, hand net, hook and line, or gaff

| hook.
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Boundary Waters

LEWIS AND CLARK LAKE (Gavins Point Dam) — Anglers
must carry a valid fishing license issued by the state from
which he enters the lake or to which he returns. It is un-
lawful for any person to use more than two lines with
more than two hooks on each line in the waters of this
lake. The Lewis and Clark Lake includes all water area
from the Gavins Point Dam upstream to the mouth of
Bazile Creek in Knox County.

MISSOUR! RIVER (South Dakota) —Any person taking
fish from that part of the Missouri River which consti-
tutes the legal boundary between South Dakota and
Nebraska must carry a valid fishing license issued by the
state from which he enters or to which he returns. Fish-
ermen shall conform to the regulations of the state in
which they are licensed.

MISSOQURI RIVER (lowa)—Anglers holding a valid sport
fishing permit from either Nebraska or lowa may fish in
the waters of the Missouri River lying between the two
states. “Waters of the Missouri River” are defined to in-
clude all oxbows, sloughs, chutes, and backwaters that
draw water from the Missouri River proper. Oxbows,
chutes, and backwaters separated from the Missouri
River by land are included only if the state boundary line
passes through some part of such waters. Fishing may be
from boats or from the bank. All fishermen shall con-
form with the regulations of the state in which they are
fishing, unless the regulations of the licensee’s state are
more restrictive. Then, the licensee must conform with
the more restrictive regulations. Anglers may transport
fish taken from the waters of the Missouri River through

6

-the neighboring state, provided they return to their home

state by the most direct route.

DE SOTO REFUGE LAKE—Fishing is permitted as post-
ed from January 1 through February 28 and from April
15 through September 15 during daylight hours unless
otherwise posted. A sports fishing license from either
Nebraska or lowa is required when fishing in this lake.
All fishermen shall conform with the regulations of the
state in which they are licensed. Archery fishing and the
use of trot and float lines are unlawful.

MISSOURI RIVER (Missouri) —Anglers holding a valid
sport fishing permit from either Nebraska or Missouri
may. fish with hook and line, including personally at-
tended jugs or floats, on the flowinj portion of the Mis-
souri River lying within the boundary of Nebraska or
Missouri. In no case may the angler licensed in only one
state fish in the tributaries, bayous, or backwaters of
the Missouri River in the other state. Fishermen may not
fish from nor attach any device or equipment to land
under the jurisdiction of the state in which they are not
licensed. Creel limits and methods of the state licensing
the sport fisherman shall apply.

Pollution Reportlnﬂ

Anyone observing a fish kill or pollution hazard
should report it immediately to any Game and Parks
Commission office or to Wes Sheets, Game and Parks
Commission pollution specialist, at the headquarters
office in Lincoln (402) 434-0641. Reports may also be
made to conservation officers. District office locations
and telephone numbers, as well as investigating authori-
ties, include: District I, Alliance, (308) 762-56053, Jack
Peterson; District 1l, Bassett, (402) 684-3511, J. Larry
Hutchinson; District 11, Norfolk, (402) 371-4950, Lee
Rupp; District IV, North Platte, (308) 532-6225, Monte
Madsen; and District V, (402) 434-0641, Jim Johnson,
Observers could also refer the data to the Water Quality
Surveillance and Enforcement Section of the Depart-
ment of Environmental Control (402) 471-2186.

Oil and hazardows material spills should be reported
to (402) 477-3951.
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Fish Stocking

It is unlawful to release any non-native fish, reptile,
or amphibian in any waters of the state or to release any
fish in any public waters in the state except those taken
therefrom without writien authorization from the Game
and Parks Commission.

Float Lines _

Float lines may be used only on streams and rivers
and must be personally attended. The name and address
of the owner shall be on or attached to all floats when in
use. The use of glass floats on float lines is unlawful.
Bag and possession limits are the same as for hook and
line fishing (see Page 4).

Scents

Anise oil and other scents that do not stun, kill, or
harm fish are permitted.

8

Fish Nets and Traps

The possession or use of any nets, traps, or other de-
vices except the following is unlawful:
1. Minnow seines of one-fourth inch non-metallic
square mesh only, and not over 20 feet long and
4 feet deep.

2. Minnow dip nets of one-fourth inch non-metallic

. square mesh.

3. Minnow and bait traps of one-fourth inch square
mesh material with a length of 24 inches or less, a
diameter 16 inches or less, and a throat 1% inches
or less in diameter. All minnow traps shall be rajsed
and the minnows removed at least every 24 hours.

4. Landing nets, made of non-metallic mesh, used
only for landing fish caught on hook and line.

Special Areas

PLATTSMOUTH WATERFOWL MANAGEMENT AREA
—This area is open to fishing from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily
from April 15 through September 15 except when clesed
by the Commission by posting.

BURCHARD STATE LAKE — It is unlawful to fish in this
Pawnee County lake during any waterfowl hunting sea-
son, except bank fishing from the face of the dam is per-
mitted during this closed period as posted by signs on
the area.

NINE MILE CREEK (Scotts Bluff County) —Upper por-
tions closed to all fishing from October 1 through De-
cember 31, as posted.

VALENTINE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE—Hook-
and-line, bow-and-arrow, and hand-spear fishing is per-
mitted year-round during daylight hours unless otherwise
posted. Dead minnows or parts thereof may be used as
bait, but live minnows are prohibited. Possession of any
seine or net for capturing minnows is prohibited. No
overnight camping is allowed on the refuge. Fishing
through the ice is permitted as posted. Electric motors

9
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may he used on 1akes open to fishing. Internal combus-
tion-type motors are prohibited.

ar de- :

e CRESCENT LAKE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE—
tallic Fishing is permitted during daylight hours only in areas
. and designated by posting in Crane or Island lakes from Jan-

uary 1 through September 30 or as posted. Use of any
tallic live or dead minnows or fish, possession of any seine or
] net for capturing minnows is prohibited.
Juare NORTH PLATTE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGF&—
aie o Lakes in this Scotts Bluff County refuge are open to fish-
i ing from January 15 through September 30 or as posted.
2ised CLEAR LAKE (Brown County) and OVERTON LAKE
OUrs. (Holt County)—The possession or use of live or dead
\isagl minnows and the possession of any fish not taken from

these waters is unlawful.

SPECIAL AREAS — Special regulations are in effect on the
fellowing state-owned areas:

1. TWO RIVERS STATE RECREATION AREA (Doug-
las County)—The Platte River bordering this area
and all lakes (except Nos. 3, 4, and 5) are closed
to fishing during the waterfow! hunting seasons.
Archery fishing, snagging, spearing, gigging, snar-
ing, and baiting are prohibited in all lakes. Live or
dead minnews er fish of any species are prohib-
ited as bait.

2. FEE FISHING AREAS:
(a) Lake No. 5 within the Two Rivers State Rec-
reation area, Douglas County.

AREA (b) Soldier Creek, as posted, within the Fort Rob-
daily inson State Park Complex, Sioux County.
lesed The above areas are designated as special trout fishing

h areas, subject to the following regulations:
n this

_ 1. A daily trout fishing tag (fee $2) is required.
g sea- 2. Daily bag and possession limit is five (5) trout.
IS per- 3. Open season—April 1 through November 30,
ns on between sunrise and one-half hour after sunset,
or as prescribed and posted by the Commission.
r por- 4. Each fisherman shall wear the trout tag on his per-
h De- son in a conspicuous place while fishing.
5. Only one pole with line attached, and not more
Hook- than two hooks is permitted per person.
is per- 6. Bow-and-arrow fishing, snagging, spearing, gig-

rwise ging, snaring and baiting are prohibited.

sed as 7. Minnows or fish, alive or dead, are prohibited as
of any bait.

d. No 8. Each fisherman shall keep his fish on a separate
ishing stringer or container under his control.

notors 9. Each fish caught shall be counted in the bag limit
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and no fish caught shall be returnea to the water
10. Each fisherman shall report his catch at the Ad-
ministration Building and return his tag each day
when finished.
11. Each fisherman’s resident or nonresident fishing
permit will be held until his tag and catch report
are returned.

TROUT WATERS—It is unlawful to take or attempt to
take game or nongame fish by bow and arrow or spear-
ing and to seine or take or attempt to take bait or min-
nows in any manner in the following trout streams:
ANTELOPE COUNTY, Verdigre Creek and all tribu-
taries. BROWN COUNTY, Long Pine Creek, Plum Creek
and all tributaries. BOX BUTTE COUNTY, Niobrara
River. CHERRY COUNTY, Middle Loup River and all
tributaries, North Loup River and all tributaries, Schlagel
Creek, Fairfield Creek, Snake River and all tributaries,
Plum Creek and all tributaries. DAWES COUNTY, Chad-
ron Creek, Big Bordeaux Creek, Little Bordeaux Creek,
White River above Crawford, Niobrara River from Box
Butte Reservoir west to the Wyoming line and all tribu-
taries, Dead Horse Creek, and White Clay Creek. GAR-
DEN COUNTY, Blue Creek. HOLT COUNTY, Steel
Creek and North, Middle, and South branches of Verdi-
gre Creek. HOOKER COUNTY, Dismal River and all
tributaries. KEITH COUNTY, Otter Creek, White Tail
Creek, and Lonergan Creek and all tributaries. KIMBALL
COUNTY, Lodgepole Creek and ali tributaries west of
the West Kimbali Reservoir. KNOX COUNTY, North,
Middle, and South Verdigre and all tributaries above
the town of Verdigre, and Steel Creek, LOUP COUNTY,
Cracie Creek. MORRILL COUNTY, all streams and trib-
utaries except the channel or channels of the North
Platte River. ROCK COUNTY, Long Pine Creek. SIQUX
COUNTY, Sheep Creek Drain, Dry Sheep Creek Drain,
Dry Spotted Tail Drain, Spotted Tail Drain, Niobrara
River and all tributaries, Monroe Creek, Sowbelly Creek,
Hat Creek, and Squaw Creek. SCOTTS BLUFF COUN-
TY, all streams and tributaries except the channel or
channels of the North Platte River. SHERIDAN COUN-
TY, Snake River, Larrabee Creek, White Clay Creek,
Pine Creek, Deer Creek, and Little Bordeaux Creek.

It is unlawful to possess a net or seine of any type on
trout spawning streams in Sioux, Scotts Bluff, Morrill,
Garden, and Keith counties that are tributary to the
North Plaite River and Lake McConaughy, including:
Pumpkin, Red Willow, Wildhorse, Stuckenhole, Nine
Mile, Tub Springs, Winter, Sheep, Dry Sheep, Spotted
Taii, Dry Spotted Tail, Otter, Clear, Lonergan creeks.
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Bait and Minnows

RESTRICTED SPECIES—1t is unlawful to sell, transport,
or offer for bait any carp, carpsucker, buffalo, gar, gold-
fish, quillback, or in, and it is unlawful to use any
of these fish for bait except in the water from which they
are taken.

EXPORTING—No minnows taken from Nebraska wa-
ters may be transported out of the state in any manner,
except minnows artificially propagated in man-made
impoundments by licensed fish culturists. No more than
100 legally captured minnows or tiger salamanders may
be exported by a resident for his personal use in fishing
outside the state,

IMPORTING — No person may import live bait minnows
or live bait, including crayfish and leopard or striped
frogs for commercial Purposes, or in excess of 100 min-
nows for any purpose, without first obtaining a “‘certifi-
cate of inspection” from his state game and fish depart-
ment which certifies the shipment free from disease and
parasites. A copy of the certificate must accompany the
shipment and the original must be sent to the Game and
Parks Commission not less than three days before the
shipment is made, along with the time, date, and place
the bait will enter Nebraska, It is unlawful to import or
transport carp, carpsucker, buffalo, goldfish, quiltback,
gar, salamanders, or bowfin into the state for use as hait.
A $25 resident bait vendor's permit or $100 nonresident
fish dealer's permit is required for a person to import
and sell bait or bait minnows.

STATE AREAS — Digging and seining for bait or for any
other purpose on all state-owned and controiled areas
are prohibited.

GIZZARD SHAD - May be taken for use as bait by legal
minnow dip nets in any number in lakes, ponds, reser-
voirs, and below dams and other artificial obstructions
for a distance of 200 yards below such obstructions.
Shad may be taken by legal minnow seine landing net,
or dip net in any nurber in streams except those streams
closed to the taking of minnows or bait by such methods.

BELOW DAMS —The seining or capturing of minnows
for commercial or private purposes for a distance of 200
yards below any dam, check, spillway, or other artificial
abstruction is unlawful. This does notrestrict individuals
from using legal minnow dip nets in these areas to cap-
ture minnows for their own personal use,

CLOSED WATERS — See Special Areas section.
12
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IF YOU CATCH A RECORD FISH: Have the fish checkesd and weighed by a conservation officer or other Game

Commission official, obtain his signature, and submit this statement and other pertinent informatioa to the
Information and Education Division, Nebraska Game Commission, P.O. Box 30370, Linceln, Nebraska 68503.

If this is not possible the angler may submit a notarized
fish, where and when it was taken, girth, length and ot

ffidavit signed by two witnesses, giving weight of the
¢ information to the agency mentioned previously.




